Skip to main content

2014 Distinguished UK Geology Alumni Award Presentation and Rast-Holbrook Seminar

The 2014 Distinguished UK Geology Alumni Award presentation was held October 9 prior to the Rast-Holbrook Seminar.

Wendell Overcash (UK B.S. Geology 1977, UK Law 1980), the Chair of the Geology Alumni Advisory board served as master of ceremonies. The full citations will be available online at the EES web page and will appear in the 2014 Department Newsletter.

Elizabeth Haynes (UK M.S. Geology 2000), currently a Senior Production Geologist with BHP Billiton, was recognized for breathing new life into the Alumni Advisory Board and generous support of student geology field trips.

Tom Spalding (UK B.S. 1980, M.S. 1982), currently Vice-President of Pioneer Natural Resources, was recognized for his role in establishing and sustaining financial support for the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, and for his efforts in the professional development of UK Geology graduates.

Dr. Don Haney (UK B.S. 1959, M.S. 1962) was posthumously recognized for his many career accomplishments, including as State Geologist of Kentucky and Director of the Kentucky Geological Survey, and service to the U.S. geoscience community. The award was accepted by Don’s widow, Shirley Haney.

The award ceremony was followed by a special Rast-Holbrook seminar, presented by Lowell Waite of Pioneer Natural Resources entitled “The Petroleum Industry and Great American Shale Revolution: a 30+ Year Perspective.”

Photos by Brian Connors Manke and Pete Idstein